mom’s secret hideaway

The picture on my header was taken about 2 years ago from my first casio digital camera, which was only a 2.0 megapixal.  I loved carrying that small compact camera, I took it everywhere with me.  It was tiny enough to fit in my back pocket, but the quality of pics were not that great .  I used to lug around a Pentax P-Z-10 35mm camera and that camera was fun taking shots with, but I’ve gotten so spoiled with digital, I want to see the pictures instantly.  Well, back to my story about the photo above.  It’s a photo of one special woman, “my mom!” This is one of her favorite past times, actually if she could, she would eat, sleep, drink and surf fish on this beach, day and night.  I often became angry with her because she spent so much time on this beach at Pt. Mugu along the Pacific Coast Highway 1.  She invited me one evening, and I detested the thought of hooking up a slimy bait and having my fingers smell of pure fish funk.  I went along for the ride, and I soon realized why this was her passion.  The sun was about to set and with each wave you would get an ocean mist and breeze brush upon your face.  The smell of the ocean felt like a new scent each time the waves crashed.  And each wave you would cast your line in hopes that something, a least something would bite.  I didn’t catch anything that night, nor did mom, but the real reason why I joined in on her adventure was to just…. stand by my mom on her favorite beach.  

I sure miss my mom and dad,  sigh…. for they live a gazillion miles away.  Here are some photos of the area around Pt. Mugu. 

Leave a comment